Te Mapouriki

Jun Märkl Conductor
Samuel Jacobs Horn

Kenneth Young Te Mapouriki
Mozart Symphony No. 31 in D major, K. 297 Paris
Richard Strauss Horn Concerto No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 11
Mendelssohn Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage, Op. 27
Schumann Symphony No. 1 in Bb major, Op. 38 Spring

German-Japanese conductor Jun Märkl conducts a spring concert that includes a new and exciting New Zealand work plus some popular classics.

Te Māpouriki by New Zealand composer Kenneth Young was commissioned as part of the NZSO Cook’s Landfall Series to mark 250 years since the first encounters between Maori and European settlers.

Mozart’s vigorous Paris Symphony is a informative example of Mozart’s versatility.

Strauss’ first horn concerto, written when he was just 18 is still a popular work today and will be performed by NZSO principal horn Samuel Jacobs.

The concert will finish off with Mendelssohn’s concert overture Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage which is based on two poems by Goethe, and Schumann’s Spring Symphony, which was written in just four days.


Baycourt, 38 Durham Street, Tauranga


Tuesday 22 October


A Reserve Adult $65.00
A Reserve Concession (65+) $55.00
A Reserve Child (18 & under) $45.00
B Reserve Adult $50.00
B Reserve Concession (65+) $43.00
B Reserve Child (18 & under) $15.00

Ticketing service fees apply. 

Want to add an event? Simply fill in the event form and we will help promote your city centre event.