Presented by The New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

Carlos Kalmar Conductor
Steven Osborne Piano

Mendelssohn The Hebrides Overture, Op. 26
Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
Michael Norris Matauranga
Mozart Symphony No. 38 in D major, K. 504

Mātauranga, by Wellington-based Michael Norris, was commissioned as part of the NZSO Cook’s Landfall Series to mark 250 years since the first encounters between Maori and Europeans at Captain Cook’s first landfall. 

Beethoven’s revolutionary Piano Concerto No. 4 starts with just the piano – a first. A beautiful slow second movement contrasts loud spiky strings with a soft, smooth piano melody that segues into a scintillating finale. 

Mendelssohn’s famous Hebrides Overture was inspired by his visit to Fingal’s Cave, on the Scottish island of Staffa. 

Mozart’s Prague Symphony premiered in Prague during the composer’s first visit there. The Bohemian wind players were famous throughout Europe, which might explain the symphony’s lavish use of wind instruments.


Baycourt, 38 Durham Street, Tauranga


Thursday 18 July


A Reserve Adult $65.00
A Reserve Concession (65+) $55.00
A Reserve Child (18 & under) $45.00
B Reserve Adult $50.00
B Reserve Concession (65+) $43.00
B Reserve Child (18 & under) $15.00

Want to add an event? Simply fill in the event form and we will help promote your city centre event.